Ursula Fergusson Bequest

Ursula Fergusson was the wife of a past Vicar at St Albans, St Peter. In 1991, in her will, she bequeathed a sum of money to the Association, to be used to encourage good striking amongst young ringers. The sum was later increased through the generosity of her son and daughter. The Ursula Fergusson Bequest is a bursary awarded each year by the Association's President to allow a young person, usually from the President's District, to attend a ringing course aimed at improving that person's striking. The Bequest has been awarded each year since 1992.

Past recipients of the award are:

Year Recipient Tower
1992 Peter Glover Watford
1993 Neil Cording Broxbourne
1994 Christine Horritt Sandon
1995 Philip Watson Apsley End
1996 Jonathan Cresshull Bishop's Stortford
1997 Stephen Penney St Albans Abbey
1998 Claire Alldrick Langleybury
1999 Alban Forster Stevenage
2000 Hazel Medhurst Stevenage
2001 James Crawley Hemel Hempstead
2002 Adam Crocker Kimpton
2003 Oliver Titmus Lemsford
2004 Edward Jones Rickmansworth
2005 Alexandra Marsh Hoddesdon
2006 Sam James Baldock
2007 Helen Beaumont Northchurch
2008 Rebecca Kiff Kimpton
2009 Katharine and Alexander Woods Lemsford
2010 Laurence Bourton Ridge
2011 Elizabeth Love-Clark Hoddesdon
2012 Craig Homewood Royston
2013 James Coleman and Elliot James Orwin Hemel Hempstead
2014 Carsten Schäfer St. Ippolyts
2015 Robert Gurney St. Peter's, St. Albans
2016 Oliver Bond Rickmansworth
2017 Daniel Gregory Cheshunt
2018 Nicholas Dyne Norton
2019 Jonathan Below Great Berkhamsted
2020 Thomas Cubitt Sawbridgeworth
2021 - (No award made due to COVID lockdown) -
2022 Thomas Groves St Peter, St Albans
2023 Nicholas Groves St Peter, St Albans
2024 Jack Sambridge Thorley

Contact Webmaster